The international Meuse Commission

The Meuse originates in France and flows through Belgium (Walloon Region and Flemish Region) and the Netherlands to the North Sea. On its way, it receives tributaries from Germany and Luxembourg (see map of the international river basin district).
The International Meuse Commission (IMC) was established in 2002 with the signing of the International Meuse Agreement (Ghent Agreement). The objective of the Agreement is to achieve sustainable and integrated management of the water of the Meuse River Basin District. The Agreement was signed by the Walloon Region, the Netherlands, France, Germany, the Flemish Region, the Brussels-Capital Region, Belgium and Luxembourg and came into force on 1 December 2006.

The main tasks of the IMC are

  • to coordinate the obligations of the European Water Framework Directive,
  • to coordinate the obligations of the European Directive on the assessment and management of flood risks and
  • to provide advice and recommendations to the Parties for the prevention and control of accidental pollution (warning and alert system).

The Commission has an action programme and meets once a year. The IMC has 5 permanent working groups and various temporary project groups for its preparation.

The IMC makes recommendations and adopts decisions unanimously, has a rotating presidency and meets in the three working languages (French, Dutch and German). The IMC has recognised 5 non-governmental organisations (NGOs) as observers who participate in the meetings.
The IMC has a permanent secretariat in Liege where most of the meetings are held. Mr. Jean-Paul Lickes (Luxembourg) is the current president. Mr Jean-Noël Pansera is the Secretary General (